Bug report: Starbucks.

Bug report is a new series on my blog in which I talk about stuff that…well, bugs me to be frank.

Today I want to talk about Starbucks.

It seems every time Starbucks does something everyone is all praise, as in “OMG! Starbucks integrates with Passbook!”, or “OMGWTF?! Starbucks will use Square!”…I’m still waiting for the “OMGWTFBBQ! Starbucks serves Curiosity Rover it’s first coffee on Mars!”.

The thing is: Why is everyone all crazy about Starbucks?

It’s the coffee, right? Must be. Umm..I hope not, because it stinks, and most of the time it’s not even real coffee. At least to me it’s not. Real coffee comes from a normal coffee machine, water, and grounded beans. Maybe some sugar, maybe some milk. That’s it. And it doesn’t cost ten bucks. Ever.

Ten bucks! For flavored water! Think about that!

Look at a Starbucks menu. Go ahead, I’ll wait.

Done? Good.

That’s not coffee. That’s a fucking over-prized, non-alcoholic cocktail. At best.

And that bugs me.

2 comments on “Bug report: Starbucks.

  1. Odi Kosmatos says:

    Let’s try that again. Starbucks might have some weird stuff on their menu, but this is what it is to me and many others: A place where you can get a $3.50 latte/cappuccino/espresso. Now how can you call that “not real coffee”? Without starting a childish “that’s real coffee and filter coffee is fake coffee” argument, the fact of the matter is that it is real coffee beans, real milk. I don’t know where you get your $10 from, have the prices really gone up that much?

    For the record, I don’t think their coffee is that great. But “flavored water” is the equivalent of “software” – think about that. You pay for software. Okay, it’s a slight stretch. 🙂

    • scottph says:

      Yeah, that is a stretch.
      Anyhow, I’m talking about the 90% of their menu, which is essentially flavored water with weird ingredients.
      Also, you have to keep in mind that, although I don’t mention it every time, I’m talking about it from my perspective, which is to say a european perspective.

Leave a Reply

