Steve Ballmer on tablets…

This guy is seriously crazy, or delusional, or both.

“I don’t think anybody has done a product that is the product that I see customers wanting. You can go through the products from all those guys … and none of them has a product that you can really use. Not Apple. Not Google. Not Amazon. Nobody has a product that lets you work and play that can be your tablet and your PC. Not at any price point.”

100+ million iPads sold. To customers.

4 comments on “Steve Ballmer on tablets…

  1. Odi Kosmatos says:

    I think he means that iPa is not satisfying to brin to meetings and typing your stuff, not satisfying for professionals that want to run PC-grade software like OS X applications like Aperture, Final Cut Pro, Xcode or PC apps like Visual Studio, Photoshop, etc.

    And the worst part? I sold my beloved MacBook Air for an iPad 3 and now wish I had it back because the iPad, while fun, feels super cramped to do stuff on in meetings, the keyboard takes half the screen space, typing is awkward, and I don’t feel like carrying the Bluetooth keyboard which just isn’t convenient and also puts the iPad upright which it doesn’t like, it needs touch input often.

    I want to run OS X apps too. But I also like my iPad apps for controlling lights, receivers, and tons of other iOS apps.

    But 2 devices are needed. Maybe my iPhone can help here, but…

    I’d buy a Surface-Pro-like MacBook Air in a heartbeat if I could rip the keyboard off and turn it into a tablet. But I might also just be content with an Air again and sell the iPad and use my iPhone in my pocket. But this is what Steve Ballmer is talking about I think.

    • scottph says:

      Millions of people would disagree with him, if that’s what he meant. Hundreds in the company I work at too.
      No one buys an iPad thinking you can use Aperture, or Final Cut on it. Seriously, if you are going to spend 500+ bucks on a tablet, do some research.
      iPad works for 95+% of people as their primary computer. The others will always need something more.

      • I think Apple is really making the iPad a primary computer to people since they do continue to make apps that make people do things (like the iLife set for iOS) and Microsoft is currently making an Office app set for iOS so there’s more apps for work. (they actually have an Office for iOS currently, but it’s the Office Web App set)

        The virtual keyboard on iOS for the iPad does feel awkward to type on, when you’re writing an email, it blocks the content, split thumb-typing on the iPad does feel fine though but doing it on public makes people think you’re just playing.

        “Nobody has a product that lets you work and play that can be your tablet and your PC,” Unfortunately, Valve and Mojang doesn’t like Windows 8, so the Surface and the OS has a -2.

      • scottph says:

        I agree on Apple’s strategy. Anyone who says “you can’t get real work done on an iPad” is simply fooling themselves, and usually is a fan of Windows/Microsoft. That doesn’t change the facts though. iPads are quickly becoming the new PC for the 95%.

        I actually like the keyboard. Sure, it’s not as nice as on my Mac, but I think it is better than the piece of crap I have to use at work.

        Siegler is probably right when he says that Windows 8 is going to be a “shitbag” for consumers. Ballmer touted an adoption of 4 million in the first few days. That may sound like a lot, but compared to the install base it’s not. He also didn’t say anything about Surface sales besides “In terms of actual sales there’s nothing substantial to report.”. Ok…

Leave a Reply

